What colour is your yoga mat?

August 11, 2011 1:04 pm Published by

What does your yoga mat colour say about you??….


RED – You are energetic, vibrant, and passionate. You feel things intensely. Like a red Ferrari, you stand out from the crowd…and someone is always chasing you. You like to chase back; your Niyama (sanskrit for a set of codified behaviours that make up the limbs of yoga) is Tapas — Heat/Cleansing. Poses: Utkatasana (Chair Pose),Virabhadrasana 2 (Warrior 2), and Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutations). Chakra: Root – Survival + Grounding.

ORANGE – Orange mat people are balanced, warm, and enthusiastic. They have brought along Aztec Sweet Chili Yogi Tea to class to share with everyone. A little (or maybe a lot) flamboyant, they have lots of friends. Their Yama is Asteya — Non-Stealing; Oranges have plenty to share and love to do so. Poses: Cat/Cow with Lion’s Breath, Urdhva Dhanurasana (Upward Bow/Wheel), and Pincha Mayurasana (Peacock). Chakra: Sacral – Relationships + Sexuality.

YELLOW – You are joyous, happy, and hopeful. When you walk into the room, it is filled with sunshine and lightness. Yellow people inspire and instill optimism in others. Your Niyama is Santosha — Contentment. Poses: Happy Baby, Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana (Extended Hand-to-Big-Toe), andTrikonasana (Triangle). Chakra: Solar Plexus – Personal Power + Growth.

GREEN – Green mat yogi/nis are natural, youthful, and intelligent. They love to learn, draw money and prosperity to them with ease, and are often healers of some sort. Greens are the people you want to know; they have an aura of ethereality and quirk. Their (traditional) Niyama is Mati — Spiritual Will + Intellect. Poses are Vrksasana (Tree), Prasarita Padottanasana (Wide-Legged Forward Bend), andCamatkarasana (Wild Thing). Chakra: Heart – Unconditional Love for the Self and Others.

BLUE – You are tranquil, calm, and steady. You cannot tell a lie. Satya is your m.o. What you aren’t is loud, flashy, or inappropriate. Blues are welcome anywhere; they flow like water, making their way purposefully, but elegantly. Your (traditional) Yama is Kshama — Patience + Presence. Poses:Tadasana (Mountain Pose), Salamba Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand), and Sukhasana (Easy Pose). Chakra: Throat – Communication.

PURPLE – People with purple mats are sophisticated, mysterious, and wise. They embody the grace of royalty. Purples are often creative, artistic, and spiritual. Their color is the hue of meditation. The Niyama for Purples is Svadhyaya— Self-Study. Poses: Natarajasana (Lord of the Dance/King Dancer), Eka Pada Koundinyasana 2, and Padmasana (Lotus). Chakra: Third Eye/Brow – Intuition, Clarity, + Consciousness.

PINK – Pink mat practitioners are sweet, romantic, and idealistic. They are closely in touch with and celebrate their inner child. These are caring, tender people who want to love and be loved. They like bubblegum, rollerskates, and Pepto Bismol (haha). The (traditional) Yama for Pinks is Daya — Compassion. Poses: Hanumanasana (Monkey), Purvottanasana (Upward Plank), and Balasana (Child’s).

WHITE – You are pure, peaceful, and innocent. Soft, quiet, and gentle like winter snow. Your Niyama is Sauca — Cleanliness. White has the presence of all colors and represents the energy of light. You have the ability to cleanse others and make them feel balanced and at ease. Poses: Sirsasana (Headstand), Marichyasana 1, and Viparita Karani (Legs-Up-the-Wall). Chakra: Crown – Pure Consciousness.

BLACK – Black mat yogi/nis are powerful, effortlessly stylish, and deep. Where white is all colors, black is the absence of light, no color. Your Yama is Aparigraha — Non-Attachment. As black is indicative of the unseen, these yogi/nis have faith, solid as black soil. They are at peace with what may come. They are resilient. Poses: Virasana (Hero), Virabhadrasana 3 (Warrior 3), and Bhujangasana (Cobra).

GRAY – You are subtle, sleek, and dignified. Gray is the color of winter skies and the water along rugged coastlines. You value security, conservatism, and independence. Perhaps you are a lone wolf, happily at peace in solitude, but able to enjoy the company of others on occasion. Your Yama is Brahmacharya — Moderation. Poses: Paschimottanasana (Forward Bend), Dolphin, and Garudasana (Eagle).

BROWN – Brown mat practitioners are earthy, stable, and comfortable in their mind, body, and spirit. They are masters of home and hearth, often good cooks and hosts/hostesses. Browns are unflappable; steady, strong, and genuine. The Yama for Browns is Ahimsa — No Harm. Poses: Tadasana (Mountain), Malasana (Garland), and Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward-Facing Dog).

Categorised in:

This post was written by Laura Avery